How being a coward helps me in Advent…

December 24, 2008

When I look over beyond the line and beyond death, to the laughing side of the world, I triumph, and ride upon the high places of Jacob: howbeit, otherways I am a faint, dead-hearted, cowardly man, oft borne down and hungry in waiting for the marriage supper of the Lamb. Nevertheless, I think it is the Lord’s wise love that feeds us with hunger, and makes us fat with wants and desertion.  

(Samuel Rutherford, Loveliness of Christ, 15)

Rutherford’s words are sweet to me. I am so much a coward that I, too, must bank my hope on that day. To be fed with that hunger!

Come, Lord Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

